The FSB Fund for Community Advancement was formed in 1997 to provide support for projects that will enhance the lives of people in the communities Franklin Savings Bank serves. The areas currently served by the fund include: Alexandria, Andover, Belmont, Boscawen, Bridgewater, Bristol, Canterbury, Danbury, Franklin, Gilford, Gilmanton, Hebron, Hill, Laconia, New Hampton, Northfield, Sanbornton, Salisbury, Tilton and Webster. The fund may also provide support for projects in other surrounding communities.

The Fund is very active in supporting a broad range of community activities. Eligible organizations are those recognized as tax exempt under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code. Public agencies are also eligible to apply for consideration. Areas of support include, but are not limited to, economic development, affordable housing, education, health care, social services, environment, arts and humanities, human services, and programs or services addressing the needs of children, adolescents, and single parent families. Consideration is also given to programs and services that address the needs of low to moderate income families and individuals. Grants from the Fund are awarded after a thorough review process and generally range from $2,000 – $7,500.

Typically, awards will be made to support projects, activities, and programs that can be completed within one year. A limited number of multi-year projects may be considered for support; however, awards will not be repeated or renewed upon completion. Grants are not typically awarded to fund operations or for ongoing or annual programs. In addition, grants will not be awarded to replace public funding, or for purposes which are deemed to be a public responsibility. An organization may submit an application for a given project a maximum of two times.

Check out the 2016 Fund for Community Advancement Video

Watch Video

FSB is pleased to have awarded 196 grants totaling over $942,192 to area organizations since the inception of the FSB Fund for Community Advancement in 1997.

View Recipients